Day 18: Some familiar faces

Inside the Chinese restaurant

At work I wrote the article based off the interview I got from the CIRCA co-founder. My boss told me that she plans on having me help her with the upcoming print editions of various Le-City Deluxe franchise magazines for the future starting next week. I’m really excited!

After work, I went to Spanish class for my fourth day and learned some more transportation terms and how to tell time along with time phrases. I definitely feel that my Spanish is strengthening!

Some friends from UA who are studying abroad in Madrid, Spain came to visit Barcelona for this weekend and I met them at the train station and helped them locate their hostel as well got dinner with them. We went to a really nice Chinese restaurant and shared a lot of great laughs. It was nice to see a familiar face and also make a new friend.

When we received our check at the restaurant, the waiter also brought us each a necklace + earring set as well as this interesting sweet wine like substance to drink in tiny little goblets. It was very different. I guess that necklaces are their version of fortune cookies? It didn’t cost any extra and we were all surprised by the random present. All in all, a very nice evening.

2 comments on “Day 18: Some familiar faces

  1. soumettre says:

    How interesting! That works, though. After all, English speakers would probably get very confused by the broken Spanish versions of Chinese proverbs. XD

    And more /printed/ articles!?! Oh my goooshhhh!!!! Ashanka!

    • LitaStarr says:

      I said “1 on the dot” to my boss and she was like, “on the dot?” I never thought of that as an idiom before. xD I had to explain that it was just basically the same as saying “Uno en punto.”

Leave your thoughts!