Day 19: Last day of Spanish classes

The market we toured

This morning I went to Jaume I to meet some people from my program for a tour of the market area. I really like the fresh food markets in Spain which are just like the ones I saw in Italy last summer but with the obvious different foods special to each region.

I saw lots of fish and pig meat today. In Spain, they literally will eat every last part of a pig. They also have a large variety of fish that surprisingly don’t stink! During our tour we were treated to some special type of sausage and some tasty cheese. At the end of the tour we were treated to fresh fruit smoothies. Mine was strawberry, pineapple and fantastic!

Strawberry and Pineapple smoothie

Today was also my last day taking Spanish classes in Spain. Honestly, I feel like this week flew by and I will definitely miss taking those classes. My Spanish has definitely strengthened this week and I feel a lot more confident about using more of it, so I’m glad I was able to take this class. I received a certificate/diploma for my efforts today and learned some more verbs to finish up.

Domino’s Pizza in Barcelona, Spain. All you can eat and drink for only 6 euros! 😀

Finally, I went out with friends and we had dinner at Domino’s Pizza! I know. Domino’s, in Spain? We were surprised too. The best part was the fact that it was all you can eat and drink for only 6 Euros – perfect! It was nice to have unlimited refills for once and the pizza tasted just like it does in America!

Tomorrow is a holiday here in Barcelona – La Festival de San Juan which is basically about celebrating the summer solstice if I remember correctly. I can’t wait to see what it’s all about and hopefully see some fireworks! Hasta luego!

One comment on “Day 19: Last day of Spanish classes

  1. soumettre says:

    I would express interest over the Dominos bit… But I am far too intrigued by that strawberry-banana smoothie picture you have there… Yum.~

Leave your thoughts!