Day 3: First full internship day and cooking class

The elevator at my internship. I have to ride it to the top of the building. It’s very old-fashioned but I’m glad there is one!

Today was my first full day at Barcelona Deluxe! I actually didn’t have to consult a map to get there and showed up a whole hour early. To kill time, I walked around the area and sat outside a book store for a little while. Now I know I can sleep in at least a half hour longer which will be nice.

After a brief walkthrough of the office and how the system works in terms of uploading stories to the web, I was given my first story to work on. About an hour or so later, I finished it and turned it in. The website was down today so I couldn’t upload it but I received an email from the coordinator aka my internship boss saying she thought my article was really good and I did an excellent job. Thanks UA Journalism courses! 😀 It was my first time writing something for a magazine and trying to keep a more flowery writing style was something different for me, but thanks to what I had previously learned in classes, I was able to have some kind of basis to go by.

I went to a café/bar and successfully ordered a bacon and cheese sandwich and a coca cola in Catalan! I was so proud of myself. I feel my Spanish strengthening daily as well.

A serving of the finished Paella we made. It was delicious!

Tonight the UA intern students as well as students from Group 1 (my group is group 3) who have been here for two weeks already we given the opportunity to take a cooking class. While I was waiting for the group at our meeting place, I got a chocolate drink. It basically tasted like four Hershey bars melted down. It was amazing and rich.

I really enjoyed the cooking class. It was so much fun! I learned how to make four traditional Spanish dishes including the famous Paella. It was all so delicious. I took

Using the blowtorch on my dessert. 😀 It tasted like candy cane to me and I really enjoyed it.

pictures of the recipes and am posting them in this post as requested and also for anyone who is interested! I worked with the students from group one because we had to split into two groups due to kitchen space. The facility was really fancy and I felt professional. I cut an artichoke for the first time in my life and learned that there is very little that is edible about it. I also used a blowtorch for the first time in my life for the dessert. It was scary at first, but really exciting! The chef who taught my smaller group’s

Tomato Soup. I highly recommend. Perhaps some of the best I’ve ever had!

name was Maria and she was incredibly helpful and kind. I enjoyed being in her group and learned a lot of things that I hope I can retain in America the next time I cook!

Tomorrow night I will take a salsa dance class. I can’t wait! It will also be the second full day of my internship, which I definitely enjoyed today.

Post thoughts/questions below! I know this entry was sort of short, but I took lots of pictures today!  I took over 100 today and will post them to Facebook soon. I can only post so many here. Hasta luego!

Dessert! Catalan Crema! 😀 This is what I used the torch on, to carmelize the sugar.

Paella! This one is a tougher dish, but it is wonderful when complete!

Pomato omelette (tortilla) with tomato bread (the commonly served bread in most restaurants in Barcelona). I prepared the bread part of this.