Day 2: Metro after Metro

When my alarm went off at 7 a.m. this morning, I opened my eyes and realized, it was pitch black. It was hard to believe it was morning when my room was swallowed in darkness. Because I couldn’t see, I knocked over random things on my desk until I finally was able to grab my alarm.

The sign outside the building at my internship. The picture was taken from inside the front gate.

When I finally got up, I got dressed and studied a few maps to make sure I knew which way I was headed. Afterwards, I took a metro most of the way to my internship for the first time. I allowed myself an hour and half to get there and when I walked down the additional streets after the metro, I got to my location with thirty minutes to spare. I estimate that the real time in the future will be less since I spent part of my time today double checking maps.

My internship coordinator was very friendly and also gave me three previous Deluxe magazines to look at to see what kind of stuff they publish. Tomorrow I start my first full day at 9:30 a.m. and cannot wait!

Afterwards, I walked to the Hard Rock Café, the meeting location for my internship group for our planned lunch outing. Instead of taking the metro again, I chose to walk to Hard Rock Café which is about a 30-35 minute walk. On my way, I stopped at a café and got a drink as well as a small restaurant. I’ve been incredibly thirsty since I got here, but I suppose jetlag along with all of the walking are naturally bound to cause thirst.

El Glop – The restaurant where I had lunch with my program group

After we met at Hard Rock Café, we walked to this restaurant called “El Glop,” which I later learned refers to the act of swallowing. Kind of like “the gulp,” if you will. There, we were each treated to the meal of the day. I had a cooked spinach dish as my appetizer, gnocchi as my main meal, and incredibly juicy and delicious watermelon for dessert. The whole meal was very good and I felt very full afterwards. I understand why Spaniards have siestas.

Incredibly juicy and delicious watermelon!

Since then, I have returned to my home stay and have been relaxing and taking some time off from running around. My body is still recovering my jetlag but I am trying to avoid sleeping to keep from throwing it off any more.

Tomorrow I have my first full day at my internship and can’t wait to start doing some work! I look forward to working on the tasks and projects I’m assigned and getting to continue to work on my Spanish. My internship group is also receiving a cooking lesson! We are going to learn to make Paella 😀

Hasta luego!

PS: The Pictures page was taken down because I could not figure out a good way to share all of my pictures. I may attempt to put up a flickr link again, but there is a great space limit with that. I will definitely upload my pictures to Facebook soon!

2 comments on “Day 2: Metro after Metro

  1. soumettre says:

    You should post recipes or something on here…~ Or, bring them home with you to share. 😀

Leave your thoughts!